Flashback Friday: A History of Orioles Batters with 100 Walks

Tell friends
Ken Singleton Card

April 11, 2014

I got to looking at the Orioles' history for bases on balls this week as part of the research process for my MASN guest post. That piece focuses on pitches per plate appearance (spoiler: the Orioles rank low in the category), which made me curious about which guys have taken the most walks for my favorite franchise. Who is in the O's Century Club?

Orioles batters have walked 100 or more times in a season on 13 different occasions since 1954.

Ken Singleton is the club president with his 118 walk season in 1975. (Random aside: The phrase "club president" makes me think of this '80s Hair Club for Men commercial. Anyone else?)

Singleton appears on the 100+ list three times, having walked 109 times in 1979 and 107 times in 1977, and just missed a fourth appearance with 99 walks in 1983.

Despite his ability to get on base, Singleton never led the league in walks. Only Eddie Murray (107 walks in 1984) and Norm Siebern (106 walks in 1964) have done so for the O's.

Bobby Grich is the only other Orioles batter besides Singleton to have multiple seasons with 100 or more walks. Grich took 107 free passes in 1973 and again in 1975.

The most recent effort was Albert Belle's 101 walk season in 1999. The closest any current O's players has come to triple-digit walks was Nick Markakis with 99 in 2008.

The remaining names on the Century Club list are as follows: Don Buford, Mickey Tettleton, Randy Milligan,  Boog Powell and Cal Ripken Jr.

Here's the rundown of the Orioles' top single-season efforts for walks by anyone with 90 or more.

Ken Singleton (1975)

Ken Singleton (1979)
Don Buford (1970)

Eddie Murray (1984)
Bobby Grich (1973)
Bobby Grich (1975)
Ken Singleton (1977)

Mickey Tettleton (1990)
Randy Milligan (1992)
Norm Siebern (1964)

Boog Powell (1970)

Cal Ripken (1988)

Albert Belle (1999)

Nick Markakis (2008)
Ken Singleton (1983)
Brady Anderson (1992)

Ken Singleton (1978)

Brady Anderson (1999)
Don Buford (1969)
Jim Gentile (1961)

Rafael Palmeiro (1996)

Brady Anderson (2000)
Ken Singleton (1980)

Roberto Alomar (1996)
Don Lenhardt (1950)
Bobby Grich (1974)



Post new comment

(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Type the characters you see in this picture. (verify using audio)
Type the characters you see in the picture above; if you can't read them, submit the form and a new image will be generated. Not case sensitive.