On Orioles History: Pitching, Defense, and ... Nachos

Tell friends
Jim Palmer Card

Nov. 1, 2013

The postseason is over. The only thing I will say about the Red Sox is that they visit Camden Yards for Opening Day on March 31, 2014. Now let's return our focus back to the Orioles.

There have been several great historical baseball items in recent weeks that highlight some high points in Orioles franchise history regarding Jim Palmer, Mike Boddicker, Paul Blair, Mark Belanger, Cal Ripken Jr., and Memorial Stadium nachos.

Playoff History

-David Ortiz became the first non-Yankees player since Jim Palmer to win three World Series with the same franchise. Palmer won the Series with the Orioles in 1966, 1970, and 1983. Ortiz needs three additional World Series appearances to match the six that Palmer made in the Fall Classic with the O's.

-Sonny Gray's nine strikeouts in eight shutout innings for Oakland versus the Tigers in Game Two of the ALDS harkened back to Mike Boddicker.

Gray joined Boddicker as the only rookie with eight or more scoreless innings and at least nine strikeouts in a postseason game. Boddicker did it in the 1983 ALCS against the Chicago White Sox. He had 14 strikeouts in a complete-game shutout of the White Sox in Game Two of the ALCS.

Gold Glove History

-Three Orioles players won Gold Gloves this year: Manny Machado, Adam Jones, and J.J. Hardy. Hardy, Jones, and Matt Wieters won the award last season.

One factoid that's been touted following the gold glove announcement is that the last time the O's had back-to-back seasons with three or more Gold Glove awards was 1975-76. That only tells part of the story.

The 1976 season was the fourth consecutive season in which the Orioles had at least three Gold Glovers. The O's had three or more Gold Glovers for seven of eight seasons from 1969 through 1976. Check out the history section of the team website for all the particulars.

Pitching, defense, and three-run homers.

-Speaking of Gold Glove history, 17 Orioles players have earned 67 Gold Gloves overall. That's the second-highest total by any team since 1957, when the award was created, and the most in the American League. St. Louis leads the way with 84 gold gloves.

-On the individual level, Adam Jones joins Paul Blair as the second Orioles outfielder to win consecutive Gold Gloves. Blair won seven consecutive Gold Gloves from 1969 through 1975 and eight total in his career.

Meanwhile, J.J. Hardy joins Cal Ripken Jr. and Mark Belanger as the only O's shortstops to win consecutive Gold Gloves. Cal won only two career Gold Gloves, in 1991 and 1992. Belanger won six consecutive Gold Gloves from 1973 through 1978 and eight total during his career.

Just for Fun

-Because they don't provide concessions history on the O's website, the Washington Post's Dan Steinberg is the source for this final historical item about nachos. Steinberg offers an entry from a 1980 Orioles game program that describes the new delectable treat.

Have you ever tasted a nacho? Your first question might be "What are they?" Well, nachos are a crispy, tasty Mexican treat, something like a taco. If you're looking for a new taste treat, we suggest you try a Memorial Stadium nacho and some tropical fruit punch too at the stands listed below."



Post new comment

(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Type the characters you see in this picture. (verify using audio)
Type the characters you see in the picture above; if you can't read them, submit the form and a new image will be generated. Not case sensitive.